A Guide to Festive Reds

8

December 6, 2013 by harriesbeauty

red lipstick

Everyone needs a great red lipstick to ring in the festive season. There are so many red lipsticks around, with  different finishes and shades that everyone can find one that suits them! I believe that red lipstick is one of the few makeup looks which suits everybody. If you still aren’t sold, perhaps try a different shade of red or try blotting your lipstick down so the look is not so bold 🙂

Here are a guide to my fave ones!

Lip Pencils

Nars – now by heck do I love the Nars lip crayons! My two favourites are Majella (a satin lip pencil in a berry red) and Cruella (a velvet matte lip pencil which I just love!) £17.50 here.

nars cruella

Rimmel Colour Rush Balm in The Redder the Better. This balm is super moisturizing, with a classic red shade, and the best bit it is only £5.99 here.

???????????????????????????????

Revlon Colorburst in Standout. These aren’t in the UK yet, they arrive in Boots on January 22nd, but are well worth the wait! Standout is a classic red with a matte finish, and is simply gorgeous, not to mention a total bargain! And who doesn’t love a bargain, eh?!

Stains

I don’t usually don’t love stains as I find them a little wet and sticky on the lips, (is that just me?!) However the one I do love is the YSL Rouge Pur Couture Glossy Lip Stain in No. 9.

Traditional lipsticks

Mac – Russian Red. It’s a cliche I know it is. But it is true. This classic red matte lipstick is simply great. It suits so many skin tones and doesn’t dry the lips out. £15.00 here

mac-russian-red_300

Burberry – Ruby. I’ll be the first one to admit this is a bit of a splurge, but I mean it could be worse, right?! I am a little bit obsessed with Burberry’s foray into the beauty world, and along with their eyeshadow singles (totally dreamlike), their lip products are also out of this world. The packaging is just as luxurious as you would expect, (it instantaneously glams up your makeup bag!!) and what is inside is even better. A berry red which give your lips that hit of moisture and if it is good enough for Rosie Huntington-Whiteley it sure as hell is good enough for me! £22.50 here.

burberry-ruby_300

Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Fire and Ice. There is a reason that this lipstick has been around since 1952. 1952 I  hear you ask? Damn straight. This lipstick is great – moisturizing and the colour is an orange red. £7.49 here.

Urban Decay – Bang. An orange red lipstick with a beyond creamy and moisturizing finish. It applies like a dream. £12.75 here

Urban-Decay-Bang-Revolution-Lipstick

Rimmel – Mayfair Lady and in Love with Ginger (part of the Moisture Renew range). I own so many of this range, as I absolutely love them. The finish is really moisturizing and the range of colours is senational. They put plenty of high end lipsticks to shame. £6.49 here.

And as for my top pick for red nail varnish?

Well that would be the Dior Rouge 999. Simply stunning with a super glossy finish and doesn’t chip for days. It goes without saying that the packaging is totally luxe (well it is Dior) and you only need two coats. £15.30 here

dior-rouge-999-falls-prettiest-nail-polishes-sohelee

Let me know what you think, and if you have any suggestions as I am always on the look out for that perfect red lippie 🙂

Harrie xoxo

8 thoughts on “A Guide to Festive Reds

  1. Sarah Noelle says:

    Just like me you are a fan of the reds! Because you are I will let you know that I am having a week long GIVEAWAY and one of those items is actually a Mac Lip Palette in 6 Editorial Reds which I can’t help but think that you would ADORE!!

    http://coquetnoelle.blogspot.fr/

  2. Bio Oil says:

    My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less.

    I’ve been using WordPress on various websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress
    posts into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

  3. Hi there everybody, here every one is sharing these knowledge, therefore it’s
    pleasant to read this web site, and I used to pay a visit this weblog
    all the time.

  4. Regaine says:

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, however I assumed this publish used to be
    great. I don’t understand who you are however definitely you’re going to
    a well-known blogger when you are not already. Cheers!

  5. We’re a bunch of volunteers and starting a new scheme in
    our community. Your website offered us with useful
    information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community shall
    be thankful to you.

  6. Very great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to mention that
    I have truly loved browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing for your feed and I’m hoping you write again very
    soon!

  7. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the net will be much more useful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

Instagram

Follow on Bloglovin

Top Posts & Pages

